top of page

CONTACT: 530-342-0063

Morgan Sandhagen Outduels the Field, Wins First Cycleland Open Main Event

By: Elijah Jones

Morgan Sandhagen 25s

On an extremely hot night at the Cycleland Speedway the action on the track was even hotter, as we saw six exciting Main Events take place at Lowell Moural's playground. The car count was a little lighter than usual with just 76 total cars signed into the pit area, but the talent level in those 76 cars was second to none.

The 25 Lap Open Main Event was far and away the best race of the night and could be one of the best races to ever take place at the track. The first half of the race was all about Chico, CA driver Taylor Nelson in the SGC #74. Taylor led until past the halfway point. Following a restart just past the midway point of the race, Jesse Colwell attempted to make the pass for the lead going into turn three. The two made contact and spun to a stop, eliminating their chances at picking up a win. With those two dropping to the back of the field, RJ Johnson would inherit the race lead, with Morgan Sandhagen, Logan Seavey, and Tyler Seavey in tow. Those four drivers would put on one of the most exciting and clean races you will ever see.

The lead was swapped more times in 5 laps than a 500 mile race at Talladega. In just one lap 4 different drivers were leading the race at one point. With the track wide and slick it was all about finding the little bit of moisture that was left. When the white flag waved it was three wide for the race lead. Logan Seavey threw a “hailmary slider” as he called it, going into turns three and four. He cleared Morgan Sandhagen, but Sandhagen turned the car to the bottom and drove straight to the line where she just edged Logan Seavey at the line by just .015 seconds. Garrett Brown was the Hard Charger of the night as he charged from his 14th starting spot to finish in the 3rd position. RJ Johnson had his best run of the season finishing 4th. While Jodie Robinson rounded out the Top Five in 5th. Logan Seavey was Fast Time in Qualifying with a Lap Time of 10.471 seconds. Heat Race Victories were claimed by Taylor Nelson and Morgan Sandhagen. While Logan Seavey won his First Trophy Dash of 2016.

Daniel Whitley 57

Daniel Whitley dominated the Open Intermediate Main Event. Daniel has picked up asphalt racing over the last month as he has been racing Legend cars when not at Cycleland. It must be helping him out on dirt as well because he won by more than Three seconds over 2nd place finisher Brock Butterfield. Landon Brooks hounded Butterfield all race long but couldnt quite find a way to get by and settled for the 3rd spot. While Josh Wooten would finish 4th and Mike Ficklin was scored 5th to round out the top five. Jodie Robinson was Fast Time with a lap of 10.765 seconds, she also was Victorious in the Trophy Dash. She looked to have the car to beat until she was sidelined with a mechanical issue on the first lap of the Main Event.

Carson Hammes 56c

The Box Stock Main Event was another Barnburner that Saw Carson Hammes hold off a late race charge by the Point Leader Preston Carr to pick up his 2nd Win of the Season. Preston Carr who already has 8 wins this season would have to settle for 2nd. Evan Burrola challenged for the lead early but would finish 3rd. While Seth Standley and Chance Grasty rounded out the Top Five. Preston Carr was fastest in Time Trials for the 8th time this season, by way of turning a lap in just 12.018 seconds. Evan Burrola won the Lone Heat Race for the class. While Preston Carr won his 11th Trophy Dash in 13 races this season!

Dawson Hammes 55d

Dawson Hammes has been a force to be reckoned with in the 250 Intermediate Class this season. Dawson picked up his 7th win of the 2016 Season tonight, after making a late race pass on Blaine Baxter. This marks the first time that both the Hammes Brother's have won on the same night, as Dawson's younger brother Carson won the Box Stock Main. Blaine Baxter finished 2nd, but deserves a ton of credit. He led the entire race until a car spun right in front of him in turn 4, Blaine had to get on the brakes to avoid hitting the stopped car, which allowed Hammes to scoot past on the outside of the track. Raymond Baldez had a solid night finishing in the 3rd position. While Kaiden Butler and Keagan Medeiros rounded out the top five. Raymond Baldez picked up his 5th Fast Time of the Season by way of turning a lap of 10.694 seconds. Blaine Baxter won the lone heat race. While Keagan Medeiros won a controversial Trophy Dash, as he used the bumper to move the ‪#‎22K‬ of Kaiden Butler up the track as they were coming to the White Flag. Butler tried to return the favor in turn one but ended up parked facing the wrong direction. The Trophy Dash win was Keagan's 2nd of the Season.

Mike Moore

It was a “Lover's Quarrel” at the front of the Sportsman Main Event tonight as Mike Moore and Leana Kenyon (Who are Boyfriend and Girlfriend) started on the Front Row of the Main Event. Moore would get the initial jump on the start and would take off into the race lead. Leana though would not let him get away. She hounded Moore for the entire 20 Laps but could never quite get around him. Moore was able to hang on to get his First Win of the Season. Kenyon would settle for the 2nd spot. Alec Justeson crossed the line in 3rd. While Brian Seim and Travis Henry would round out the Top Five. Travis Henry was Fastest in Time Trials for the 3rd time this season with a lap of 10.901 seconds. Mike Moore won the lone heat race. While Brian Seim was victorious in the Trophy Dash. Seim is one of the good guys at the track and it was good to see him pick up the Trophy Dash Win.

We return to action next Saturday Night, August 6th for the Annual QRC Cup Perpetual Trophy Night. The event will mark Point Race #13 of the season. This race is sure to draw all of the top drivers on the West Coast as they vie for a chance to take home the prestigious 6 Foot Tall Trophy. Be sure to join us then as Hot Laps will start at 5:30pm. For ticket information please visit

bottom of page