top of page
  • Writer's pictureCycleland Speedway

Year Five of The Challenge at Cycleland Speedway

Chico, CA – (3-29-24) ...Now entering its fifth season, THE Challenge, presented by Tiner Hirst Enterprises, offers the chance of a lifetime for one deserving driver at Cycleland Speedway. At the end of each season, the driver who wins the track championship of the Open Outlaw Kart Division (500cc), earns the right to compete in a winged 360 sprint car at Silver Dollar Speedway on a selected night the following season.

Youth was on display in 2023 as 13-year-old Aiden Larimer of Merced won the Open division championship. Larimer gathered five main event wins in route to becoming the youngest Open Division champion in the history of Cycleland Speedway. For his career, Larimer now owns 12 career wins in three different divisions at Cycleland Speedway. Tiner Hirst Enterprises will offer Larimer the opportunity to race at an upcoming event at Silver Dollar Speedway in 2024. Because of his age they will have to wait until Larimer turns 14, which takes place in June of this season, before the gifted racer can suit up in the winged 360 sprint car at Chico.

“He is just so consistent,” said longtime announcer Elijah Jones. “It was a pleasure to watch him all season and show that even at his young age, he drove like a seasoned veteran.” Doug Lockwood the Promoter of Merced Speedway said, “He has an incredible feel for the car and the track. From day one he has shown that racing is everything to him.”

“We think this continues to be a great relationship between Kyle and myself along with the Open Division competitors at Cycleland Speedway,” said Steven Tiner. “The talent continues to pour out of that place no matter what age or division.” Business partner Kyle Hirst has fond memories of racing at Cycleland himself. “There is no doubt that Cycleland gave me the tools to grow as a race car driver and then excel in sprint car racing or whatever is on the horizon,” said Hirst.

On April 6th Cycleland Speedway begins their 2024 championship season. The grueling season continues until October 5th. Along the way there are 17 scheduled races, leaving no doubt that whoever wins THE Challenge this year will earn it. Former winners of THE Challenge include Garrett Brown (2022), Casey Schmitz (2021), and Landon Brooks (2020).


Northern California Speed Shop is owned & operated by Steven Tiner & Kyle Hirst. Call them for help with any of your racing needs at 916-690-0308 or 916-417-2279. Their motto is: For Racers by Racers. Hirst, now 36, is a 4-time NARC/KWS and 3-time SCCT driving champion. Tiner, 40, comes from a family celebrating 60 years of racing this season. Tiner was the 2009 Hanford and 2017 Placerville Speedway sprint car driving champion.



bottom of page