top of page
  • Writer's pictureCycleland Speedway

Landon Brooks Wins Third Race of 2017, Continues to Extend Points Lead

The Key to the 2017 race season for Landon Brooks has been consistency. Brooks has by far been the most consistent driver this season, and now having three Main Event Wins to go with that helps his case even more.

When the green flag flew on the 25 Lap Main Event it was Kolby Juarez alongside Landon Brooks on the front row. Juarez would get the jump and lead the opening lap, but that was all he would get as Landon Brooks took the lead away on the second lap and led the rest of the way to pick up the win. It wasn't as easy as that sounds though, Brooks had to survive a couple of late restarts that saw both Casey Schmitz and Tyler Seavey actually take the lead, but Brooks was able to get it back each time before getting back to the start/finish line. Tyler Seavey would settle for a second place finish in the Amber Norman Racing #91 kart. Casey Schmitz finished in the third position for his sixth top five finish of the season. Pistol Pete Johnston came out of “retirement” to run a second Amber Norman Racing kart and he put on a show as always. After starting 16th he would charge forward to a fourth place finish. He did not however earn Hard Charger honors. Those honors went to Casey McClain who also made his first start of the season in his #30 kart. McClain started shotgun on the field in the 23rd position and gained 18 positions on the race track to finish in the fifth spot, rounding out the top five.

The Points Standings in the Open Class are led by Landon Brooks. Brooks is looking to become the youngest Open Class Champion in the history of Cycleland Speedway at just 12 years old. He has now extended his points lead to 163 points over second place driver, Kyle Woodcock. Tyler Brown sits third in the standings, as he is 204 points out of the top spot. Garrett Brown sits fourth in points, 211 markers out of the lead. While Casey Schmitz continues to close the gap on those in front of him. He sits fifth in the standings, 245 points behind Brooks for the lead. Angelo Cornett currently sits sixth in the standings at 491 points out of the lead. Those are the only six drivers that still have a mathematical shot at winning the Championship. Everyone from seventh on back have been mathematically eliminated from being able to win the Championship. Keep in mind the points listed here will not necessarily reflect the points listed online, as these standings have Driver Point Averages factored in for Substitute drivers.

We will take this weekend off, and return on Saturday August 19th, 2017 for the 20th Annual QRC Cup Perpetual Trophy Night! This is sure to be one of the biggest nights of racing of the season as everyone wants a shot to take home the big trophy for the year. Hot Laps will begin at the normal time of 5:30PM for the Open Cars, with qualifying to follow for all divisions. For ticket information and/or directions to the track please visit our website at






bottom of page