top of page
  • Writer's pictureCycleland Speedway

Helwig Dominates En Route to Win #12 of 2017

Michael Helwig has been unstoppable in 2017 as he has put together one of the most consistent, and winningest season’s we have ever experienced here at the Cycleland Speedway. Helwig now has 12 Main Event wins and has not finished outside of the top three yet this season.

When the green flag flew it was Scott Stephens alongside Kody Hunderman on the front row. That didn’t last long however, as Helwig got an excellent launch and went three wide through the middle to take the lead entering turn number one. From there on out it was all Michael Helwig up front. He would go on to lead all 20 Laps en route to win #12. Shawn Fogarty had the fastest kart in the second half of the race but didn’t have enough time to close the gap between himself and Helwig. He would settle for a second-place effort. Scott Stephens now has two top five finishes in 2017, and they have both come in each of the last two weeks. Stephens is the only driver in the pit area that runs a nose wing on his kart, and it seems to be helping over the last two weeks as he finished third on Saturday night. Kody Hunderman scored his fifth top five finish of 2017 by crossing the line in the fourth position. While JoJo Owens got back into the top five with a fifth-place effort.

The Points Standings in the Sportsman Class have been blown wide open by Points Leader Michael Helwig. He currently holds a 196-point advantage over second place driver Brian Seim. Shawn Fogarty currently sits third in the standings at 225 points out of the lead. Kody Hunderman has moved into the fourth position in the standings, he is currently 357 points out of the top spot. While Alec Justeson currently sits fifth in the standings, 404 points behind Helwig. Heading into the final four races of the season there are still eight drivers with at least a mathematical shot at winning the Championship. Some of them though would need points leader Helwig to quit showing up to the racetrack all together. Everyone from ninth on back has been eliminated from championship contention for 2017. Keep in mind the points listed here will not necessarily reflect the points listed online, as these standings have Driver Point Averages factored in for Substitute drivers.

We will take this weekend off, and return on Saturday August 19th, 2017 for the 20th Annual QRC Cup Perpetual Trophy Night! This is sure to be one of the biggest nights of racing of the season as everyone wants a shot to take home the big trophy for the year. Hot Laps will begin at the normal time of 5:30PM for the Open Cars, with qualifying to follow for all divisions. For ticket information and/or directions to the track please visit our website at






bottom of page