CONTACT: 530-342-0063

Points Leader Tanner Carrick Finally Breaks into Victory Lane in 2016

By: Elijah Jones

The 2016 Cycleland Speedway race season is coming down to the wire. Points Race #15 took place Saturday night, leaving only two points races remaining on the schedule. With many drivers trying to get some track time before Kyle Larson's “Outlaw Kart Showcase” coming up in a couple of weeks the action has been intense as car counts have skyrocketed over the last two weeks.

Tanner Carrick has been one of the fastest cars on track week in and week out this year at Cycleland. He came into this weekends race with a more than 100 point lead over Jodie Robinson in the Points Standings. Carrick has set fast time many times and won a bunch of Trophy Dashes, but the one thing eluding him has been a Main Event Win. That would change during Point Race #15 as Tanner Carrick drove an excellent race and worked his way through the pack to pick up his first win of 2016 in the Open Class at Cycleland Speedway. Carrick had to work hard to earn it though. Early in the race it was all Casey McClain up front. It looked as though McClain had the car to beat early on, but as the race progressed into the second half he began to 

fade. Kalib Henry had a great night as he was the only driver late in the race that was able to keep up with the #83jr of Carrick. In the end though Henry would have to settle for the 2nd position driving the Fogarty Racing #6 kart. Last week's Main Event winner Jodie Robinson finished in the 3rd spot, losing a couple more points to Carrick in the Championship chase. Casey McClain's strong run resulted in a 4th place finish a solid run for a driver running a part time schedule in the Karts this year. Rounding out the top five was Travis Henry in George Becker's #23 Kart. Henry made the best of a great opportunity top finish in the 5th spot. Qualifying saw Tanner Carrick set Fast Time out of 44 karts with a lap of 10.717 seconds. Heat Race Wins were claimed by Morgan Sandhagen, Casey McClain, Tanner Holmes, and Kalib Henry. Nick Larsen picked up the win in the Open Trophy Dash even with a left rear tire going flat. The Two B-Mains were claimed by Holly Shelton and Jake Park.

The Box Stock Main Event was dominated by a young driver having a great season this year, the #56c of Carson Hammes picked up another Main Event Win. He was definitely that class of the field tonight as he led all 20 laps en route to the win. Points Leader Preston Carr finished 2nd and has all but locked up the Championship with 2 races remaining in the season. Preston will more than likely lock up his second straight Box Stock Championship at the Cycleland Speedway during our next Points Race. Joel Myers Jr. has been fast each time he has raced with us this year, he would finish in the 3rd position after a fierce battle between himself Preston Carr and Rylinn Renaud. Renaud had arguably his best run of the year finishing in the 4th position. The #199 of Clinton Andrego rounded out the Top Five in the 5th spot. Another driver worth noting was the #10 of Jennifer Osborne, she had a great night running inside the top five in 2nd for much of the race before ultimately finishing in the 6th place. Preston Carr was fastest of the 24 karts in Qualifying with a Lap Time of 12.109 seconds. Heat Race Winners included Jennifer Osborne, Carson Hammes, and Clinton Andrego. While Seth Standley won his first Trophy Dash of the Season.

Tanner Holmes had a great weekend this weekend. Friday night in Medford, Oregon Holmes had a Clean Sweep of the night in the 250 Intermediate Class. The team then loaded up and made the trip down to Chico to race at Cycleland on Saturday Night. Tanner would pick up his 2nd win of the Season in the 250 Intermediate Class at Cycleland. Kaiden Butler had another consistent night finishing in the 2nd position. Isaiah Vasquez charged to a 3rd place finish. With Carson Perkins and Jack Phillips rounding out the Top Five. Points Leader Dawson Hammes had an up and down night, he was running in the Top Five before spinning and bringing out the Yellow. He would rebound though to finish in the 7th spot. Drake Standley scored his first career Fast Time Award in Qualifying with a lap of 10.758 seconds to top the 22 car field. Heat Race Wins were claimed by Raymond Baldez and Tanner Holmes. Points Leader Dawson Hammes picked up the Trophy Dash Win.

Kris Renaud absolutely dominated the Sportsman Main Event. No one was able to get close to him as he picked up the win increasing his points lead going into the final two races of the year. Mallorie McGahan returned to Cycleland and finished in the 2nd spot. Kyle Whitley scored another Top Five finish by way of crossing the line in 3rd, just barely edging the #28m of Michael Helwig for the spot. Helwig would settle for the 4th position. Alec Justeson rounded out the Top Five in the 5th spot. Brian Seim was fastest of 25 karts in Qualifying with a lap of 10.895 seconds. Heat Race Wins were claimed by Kris Renaud, who started last and worked his way up to the top spot. Mallorie McGahan picked up the win in Heat Race #2, and Alec Justeson won his Heat Race in dramatic fashion as he and Greg Yanazzo battled hard up front before contact sent Yanazzo flipping wildly in turn #2. The Trophy Dash saw Kody Hunderman return to Victory Lane in the Trophy Dash. B-Main event action saw Joey Souza pick up the win.

The Open Intermediate Class tonight saw some different faces than we have had this year. Jesse Colwell was behind the wheel of Clint Maynard's #76 RFC Factory Kart and he would take it to Victory Lane. It didn't come easy for Colwell though as he would spin early in the race a couple of times before wrangling the car in and charging to the front. Kolby Juarez had a solid run finishing 2nd in the Main Event. Garrett Brown piloted the Ed Brown Trucking #2 to a third place finish. Early race leader Jodie Robinson would have to settle for a 4th place finish, while Landon Brooks rounded out the top five in 5th. Kolby Juarez was fastest of the 14 karts in Qualifying with a Lap Time of 10.781 seconds. Jodie Robinson won the lone Heat Race in the class. While Jesse Colwell was victorious in the Trophy Dash.

The next race at the Cycleland Speedway will be Kyle Larson's Outlaw Kart Showcase on Monday and Tuesday September 5th and 6th. The place will be packed with karts and fans alike. For more information on that event please visit

© 2020 Cycleland Speedway

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon