CONTACT: 530-342-0063

Mike Wheeler Charges to Victory during QRC Cup Perpetual Trophy Night

By: Elijah Jones

One of the biggest and most exciting races of any season at Cycleland Speedway is always the QRC Cup Perpetual Trophy Night. On this night the winners of each of the Main Events gets to take home the Six Foot Tall Perpetual Trophy. These trophies have been won by some of the biggest names in dirt track racing. Everyone in the Pit Area wants to be the next to have their name engraved on one of those trophies and in the end only Five drivers will.

            The Open Feature saw Cyle Allison lead the field down to the Green Flag alongside Garrett Brown. Brown would win the battle in turns one and two and come out with the Lead. For the first few laps of the race it looked as though he was going to check out on the field. However, multiple Yellow and Red Flags continued to bunch the field up. Through all the early race madness though, Mike Wheeler quickly inserted himself into the picture at the front of the field. Wheeler was able to roll the bottom of the racetrack smooth and fast. In doing that he took the lead away from Brown. Brown would ultimately get into the wall and upsidedown thus ending his chances at walking away with the big trophy. The race up front became a became a battle amongst teammates as Ryan Foster had climbed into

the picture as well. Foster was looking to defend his win in this event last year. Medford, Oregon's Mike Wheeler though was just too much at the front of the field as he would pull away in the final laps to win the QRC Cup. Ryan Foster would finish 2nd. With Michael Tarter completing the Oregon Outlaws sweep of the podium in the 3rd position. Jesse Colwell who started 18th finished in the 4th spot. While the Hard Charger of the night was the #6K of Ryan Whitley who charged from 20th to finish in the 5th position. Holly Seim pleasantly surprised us all by setting Fast Time in Qualifying tonight with a lap of 10.885 seconds. It was great to see her have a good run. Heat Race Victories were claimed by Yuba City's Cyle Allison, Chico's Garrett Brown, and Macdoel's Maria Cofer. Ryan Foster was victorious in the Trophy Dash, and Jake Park won the B-Main Event subbing for Point Leader Tanner Carrick.

The Box Stock Main Event came down to a late race pass for the win in lapped traffic. As Preston Carr and Carson Hammes put on a show at the front of the Field. Carr would get to the front early on in the Main Event with Hammes second. Than Hammes found some speed and got around Carr for the race lead, only to see Carr go back by racing in lapped traffic. Carson Hammes though showed a great never quit attitude and tracked the #46 of Carr back down and was able to make a daring late race pass to secure the Victory. This marks two years in a row one of the Perpetual Trophies goes home with the Hammes Family as last season Carson's older brother Dawson won the Trophy in the Intermediate Class. Preston Carr would finish 2nd, with Joel Myers Jr. in the 3rd spot. Evan Burrola and Rylinn Renaud would round out the Top Five. Preston Carr was once again fastest in Time Trials with a lap of 12.217 seconds. Evan Burrola and Rylinn Renaud were victorious in the Heat Races. While Joel Myers Jr. parked it in Victory Lane for the first time this season in the Trophy Dash.


Maximus Mittry started on the Pole of the 250 Intermediate Main Event and never looked back as he would lead all 20 laps en route to a dominant victory in the Main Event. Mittry was never even challenged for the lead as he made it look easy up front. Jacksonville, Oregon driver Tanner Holmes tried to close in on Mittry in the final laps but just ran out of time. Holmes would settle for the 2nd position. Kaiden Butler had another solid run finishing in the 3rd spot. While Keagan Medieros and Dawson Hammes rounded out the Top Five. There was a bit of drama in Time Trials for the 250's as Isaiah Vasquez set Fast Time but later had his lap time dissallowed due to a rules violation. Thus giving Fast Time over to the #18P of Jack Phillips with a Lap Time of 10.989 seconds. Heat Race wins were claimed by Maximus Mittry and Keagan Medieros. Raymond Baldez was victorious in the Trophy Dash.


The Sportsman Main Event was thrilling to watch as we saw multiple different leaders throughout the race. Early on it was Michael Helwig up front. He would fall back to about the 4th or 5th spot though for part of the race. Meanwhile Kris Renaud and Tyler Ritcheson continued their battle from earlier in the evening into the feature as they raced for the Top spot for a few laps as well. After contact between Renaud and Ritcheson caused their momentum to slow, Michael Helwig would charge right back up to the top spot. He would stay there to pick up the big win in the PRP Engineering, Kyle Hirst Racing, Ed Brown Trucking #28M. Kyle Whitley came on strong at the end to finish in the 2nd position. With Kris Renaud 3rd, Tyler Ritcheson 4th, and Greg Yannazzo rounding out the Top Five. Kris Renaud was Fastest in Qualifying with a Lap Time of 10.971 seconds. Heat Race Wins were claimed by Michael Helwig, Kevin Hartnett, and Mike Moore. Brian Seim picked up his 2nd straight Trophy Dash win after contact between the leaders sent the field scattering every which way, and Brian drove right through to the top spot. Joe Renneberg won the 15 lap B-Main Event.


The Open Intermediate Main Event looked like it was going to be all about Jodie Robinson in the early stages of the race. Daniel Whitley though, had other plans. Whitley found the rubber laid down on the bottom of the racetrack before anyone else, and he used that to power to the front of the field. For five laps in a row he was half a second faster than anyone on the track including Robinson. Whitley drove by Jodie like she was standing still and started pulling away until the yellow flag flew. On the ensuing restart Jodie was able to keep up for a few laps but Whitley was just too strong on the bottom as he held on to win his 2nd straight Main Event in the OI class.  Jodie would have to settle for the 2nd spot. With Lucas Ashe running 3rd, Garrett Brown who was subbing for Landon Brooks finished 4th, and Josh Wooten had a solid run finishing in 5th place. Jodie Robinson was Fastest in Time Trials with a lap time of 11.088 seconds. Reno, Nevada driver Grasen Ternora picked up the lone Heat Race Victory. While Garrett Brown was the winner of the Trophy Dash.


When it was all said and done it ended up being a great night of racing. Especially for the five drivers who got to stay late and have pictures taken with their new Six Foot Tall Trophies. We will take this Saturday August 13th off of racing and return August 20th with Point Race #14. We hope to see everyone then. Until then be safe and we will see you next time at The Cycleland Speedway.


© 2020 Cycleland Speedway

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon